The Select Few

Posted: August 27, 2010 in Fantasy Football

Love and Hate are strong words. Many fantasy writers use them instead of sleeper/bust, but I don’t think that’s fair. My sleepers and busts are players I feel somewhat confident will be ranked significantly higher or lower than they are now, at the end of the year. They include these players below, but among other, less deserving names. The very few players I will talk about here are guys I fully expect to skyrocket, or skydive in the rankings. We are talking about guys who could go from after-thoughts to superstars, and vice versa. These are guys I LOVE and guys I HATE.

I LOVE Vince Young’s maturity. He has three big, athletic receivers, the second best RB in the game to keep defenses busy, and legs to escape trouble. I feel increasingly confident he will be in the top-10 of QBs at year’s end.

I HATE the Bengals offense. Take your pick. Carson Palmer, Chad Ochocinco, Terrell Owens, Cedric Benson… actually, avoid taking your pick.

I LOVE Knowshon Moreno. If he is completely healthy, which is a work in progress, he is the workhorse in Denver. I see 1,200 yards and 12-14 TDs as a jumping off point.

I HATE rookies. I don’t see C.J. Spiller, Jahvid Best, Dez Bryant, or any other rookie having an impact equal to their average draft positions.

I LOVE Greg Jennings. He is the top target of, arguably, the top quarterback. 1,300 yards and 10 touchdowns is a modest prediction.

I HATE injury risks. Sorry Steven Jackson and Matt Schaub. You missed too much time to sell me on one season.

I LOVE Jacoby Jones. He looks like Andre Johnson, and plays across the field from him. Defensive backs will barely look at him.

I HATE old quarterbacks who won’t go away. Age has to bite them in the ass at some point. And I’d rather jump ship a year early than a year late. But I don’t think I’m early on this one.

Those are my loves and hates. I’d like to know yours. Comment or email me who you are reaching for and are letting slide.

Comments
  1. […] of all, here is my sleeper/bust and love/hate posts. I explained in Love/Hate why I made them separate articles, if you were […]

  2. […] NOTE: Don’t bank on Brett Favre of 2009 reappearing. If you are, read “2009 players in a 2010 world”, or go check out my Love/Hate. […]

Leave a Reply

