Q&A

Posted: October 30, 2010 in Fantasy Football

Dear Fantasy X-Man,

What’s your strategy on free agent budgeting? I’m new the system and I see guys dropping major cash on guys like Brandon Jackson (after Grant’s injury) and now Kitna. I still have $82 on my budget. Should I be paying more to go get guys? -Brian, Denver

Bryan,

For the most part, I don’t want to blow my budget on one big player. I had a guy in my league spend $76 on Jackson. He ended up an average RB, and his free agent ability is shot. The way I see it, there will always be the NEXT hot pickup, and I want to have enough money to go get the next one. I paid $11 for Troy Smith, and thats about as high as I’d like to go on anyone. If you end with more money than every late, You have an advantage.

Dear Fantasy X-Man,

Can you release updated overall rankings sometime soon? Its about halfway through the season. -Marco, San Diego

Marco,

You read my mind. I have compiled a new set of rankings. I want to see week eight performances and make final adjustments, and those rankings will be posted early next week.

Comments
  1. George says:

    I have Orton/Schuab. I also hav Andre Johnson. So I see Schuab to have more value. I am going crazy at my WR2 position. I have Mike Williams TB/Steven Johnson as option. But I want something more sure. I like “The Kid” Mike Williams but Freeman IMO is not a fantasy QB. What should I do?

    • I see Schaub and Orton almost equal for the rest of this season, but if the Broncos keep losing, there is the possibility they could give Tebow some game time. For that reason, I wouldn’t blame you for dealing Orton+Williams or Johnson, but you better be getting a legit receiver back. Try for a guy like Hakeem Nicks, Greg Jennings, Marques Colston or maybe even Roddy White.

Leave a Reply

