Walking the Walk, strategy session

Posted: November 15, 2010 in Fantasy Football

I will post my usual week’s recap tomorrow, after the outcome is final. However, it looks like I will lose, as expected. So, byes are done and it is time to look towards final roster adjustments before the November 24 trade deadline. My roster looks really good, but can always get better. Priority number one this week is upgrading Cedric Benson. I still see him as a solid, workhorse back with a decent schedule moving forward, but with two top-10 QBs, two top-10 WR, my third WR being top-15, and the best TE and best RB in the game, #2 RB is the only spot I could reasonably hope to upgrade.

As a matter of fact, I am willing to get “ripped off” in a deal if it upgrades my RB2. Why is this? Because I have a supremely deep bench. Malcom Floyd is the top WR for the #1 passing offense in the NFL, and I think he will remain so even when Vincent Jackson comes back. Marshawn Lynch is a workhorse back who actually has a somewhat favorable schedule upcoming. With Ryan Mathews hurt again, Mike Tolbert will take on a heavier role. Jacoby Jones STILL has enormous upside. Danny Woodhead is getting consistent touches, and is eligible at RB and WR. Floyd and Lynch could prove especially attractive.

So when I say I’m getting “ripped off”, I mean I’m willing to overpay (Benson PLUS) for a RB improvement because I have the bench depth to deal with. A smart owner will look at my team and realize he can get more from me than any other team for his guy. I wouldn’t normally advise trading Benson AND Floyd or Lynch for, say, Peyton Hillis. But with those guys on my bench, I upgrade my starters without losing anything. Bench players score ZERO points on Sunday. So priority one is getting a RB upgrade. Really, everything else looks good. The regular season for my league ends week 14, with playoffs running 15-17. (might be interesting if someone makes the championship game and their star gets benched week 17…) But I see no reason why I can’t be 11-3 or 10-4 going into playoffs. I do, however, have  matches against two of the top three or four teams in the league. Not counting my chickens yet.

Projected week 11 starting lineup

QB- Aaron Rodgers
RB- Adrian Peterson
RB- Cedric Benson
WR- Roddy White
WR- Marques Colston
WR- Greg Jennings
TE- Antonio Gates
OP- Matt Ryan
OP- Troy Smith
DST- Giants
K- Jeff Reed

Leave a Reply

