Snakes and Ladders- My love/hate for week 13

Posted: December 2, 2010 in Fantasy Football

For those of you still on the bubble for a playoff seed, one big game could be the difference. This mainly for players who are more matchup plays. I could waste time telling you to start Aaron Rodgers every single week, but I won’t.

Let’s see who is climbing ladders this week…

Start all Chiefs. The Broncos can’t stop anyone.

I love Jay Cutler, Matt Forte and Johnny Knox against the Lions, and Danario Alexander and Sam Bradford get value boosts due to playing Arizona.

Add Jeremy Maclin and Brent Celek to the list of very useful Eagles this week against Houston.

Ben Obomanu should be starting again, and anyone with a stubborn streak might give Marshawn Lynch one more go against Carolina.

Toby Gerhart should get solid touches because of Adrian Peterson’s injury, whether Peterson is available or not, and the Bills don’t stop running backs. If Peterson plays, Gerhart is a flex play. If not, Gerhart is a solid #2.

Kevin Boss is again a good tight end play with Steve Smith and Hakeem Nicks out.

Brandon Marshall is someone to watch closely, as he might make his return, and the Browns are likely to force Chad Henne to beat them, and he needs Marshall to do that.

Now, there are some guys getting bit by some serious snakes this week.

I’m not touching any Ravens other than Ray Rice this week. I think the Steelers will be up for this game.

I think Tom Brady is better than the Jets DST. Matter of fact, if the Seahawks DST is available, I might start them over the Jets this week.

I also wouldn’t touch the Cowboys DST. I think the Colts are going to run all over Dallas. After no receptions on Thanksgiving, Dez Bryant cannot be trusted, but then again, neither than Miles Austin. However, with Marion Barber out, Felix Jones and Tashard Choice both look like decent flex plays.

Even if I usually or EVER did, I’m not starting any Raiders this week. Darren McFadden hasn’t been great in a few weeks. Bruce Gradkowski is out, and Jason Campbell is back in. No thank you.

I’m not interested in Beanie Wells, Derek Anderson, or Steve Breaston this week, and really you’re only starting Larry Fitzgerald because if you own him, he’s too talented to bench.

Drew Stanton doesn’t interest me in relief of Shaun Hill who was in relief of Matthew Stafford. Some teams just can’t catch a break.

I wouldn’t trust any Redskins running back, or Donovan McNabb because the Giants defense is fairly healthy, and with an unproven running game, they are likely to pin back their ears and blitz all night.

Those are a few value changes that jump out to me. Feel free to send any questions on people I didn’t mention.

Leave a Reply

