Baseball kickoff

Posted: January 6, 2011 in Fantasy Baseball

Ladies and Gentlemen. One season ends and another begins, just like that. In fantasy sports, as much luck as there is, the owner who knows the most sheer information will end up with the best team. I’m not saying he will win the championship, but he will certainly end up with the best team.

Case in point, my “Walking the Walk” for baseball will cover the fifth year of an expert 18-team keeper league, of which I have been a member for one year, going into my second. Its a points league, so pitching is at a premium. Starting lineup includes one at each position (including required LF,CF,RF), one OF flex, one utility flex, four starters and four relievers. We use a five-man bench and two DL spots. When I took over the team before last season, the keepers were Ryan Howard, Evan Longoria, David Wright, and Jose Reyes. Now, that’s not bad, but because of some fortunate trades, my keepers going into this season are Tim Lincecum, Roy Halladay, Adam Wainwright and Jon Lester. Know your scoring system. I traded Longoria for Halladay. In some leagues, that’s idiotic. In this one, it was a bargain. Although I didn’t end up with the championship, I easily had the best roster at the end of the season.

Knowing the most means knowing it first. And, while ESPN and many others are resting between football and baseball season, I have a full set of rankings ready to go. Now, these will change in the next couple months as the preseason progresses and rosters are finalized, but this is where I’m starting from, and its not a bad jumping off spot. In the next few posts you will see my positional rankings and an early version of Snakes and Ladders, explaining which players I think can be expected to rise or fall in value from their current rankings. As we approach the season, check back for updates.

Leave a Reply

