Inside my draft strategy

Posted: January 21, 2011 in Fantasy Baseball

In the last post, I recommended you consider getting one of the elite closers earlier than most would think. While you’re NOT waiting on closers, you can wait on first basemen. Right now, I’m looking at my draft board and planning to take a first baseman around the 14th round. And according to average draft position, and projections, I could get Mitch Moreland, Ike Davis, Matt LaPorta, Gaby Sanchez, and James Loney in that range. Moreland, Davis, LaPorta and Sanchez could all give you 25 HR, 90 RBI, with an acceptable average (.260-.270). And Loney will hit for a higher average, not as much power, but will have a ton of RBI and scoring opportunities. I would rather fill 2B, SS, and 3B before taking 1B or any outfielders.

To show that I’m not just talking. I was recently invited to join a dynasty league, and the draft is in progress. In my first six picks I took David Wright, Jose Reyes and Ian Kinsler along with three starting pitchers. Fill the shallow positions first and realize there is value at 1B and OF available late.

Leave a Reply

