Pro Closer

Posted: January 21, 2011 in Fantasy Baseball

I’m going to make an unpopular argument here. This only applies to category leagues, so take it with a grain of rice. But I think the argument can be made for taking a closer between the 11th and 12th rounds (12-team standard league). There are so few safe closers that if your league counts saves, WHIP and ERA, getting a Brian Wilson, Neftali Feliz, Heath Bell, Mariano Rivera and Joakim Soria type in the 11th round is a safe source of 40 saves. Now, in my personal draft plans, I have Joe Nathan, Andrew Bailey, and Carlos Marmol in that tier, but those are guys you can get a couple rounds later. If you can get Wilson and Bailey in the 11th and 13th round, then you can forget about saves the next ten and feel good you will get 70 saves from those two. Then grab a guy like Drew Storen or John Axford late, and I’d say you have 100 saves at the end of the season. I’m not saying go grab a closer in the fifth. But the consensus among fantasy advisors is to wait on closers until all other positions are solidified. You might be able to own saves and give yourself a major advantage in ERA and WHIP.

Comments
  1. Joey DeClercq says:

    I’m a big believer in not paying for saves. Last season I drafted Bailey and Feliz both very late for obvious reasons and after I traded Bailey I had a revolving door of closers starting with Matt Capps, Jon Rauch, Neftali Feliz, and Matt Lindstrom before my roster included Feliz, Brandon Lyon, Hong Chi-Kuo, Chris Perez, and Koji Uehara . Every year there are several closers who lose their jobs early and teams find stellar replacements. All you have to do is pay attention and then pounce on those guys early. I finished the season with 132 saves, two behind our league leader and 20 ahead of anyone else on my way to my second consecutive league championship in my family and friends league. Its all about the waiver wire..not a good closer draft in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

