Walking the Walk: TRADE!!

Posted: March 15, 2011 in Fantasy Baseball

Now, let me say, I don’t generally trade before the season starts. You really don’t have a clue what you have until it gets going. But a no-brainer is a no-brainer. I traded Gordon Beckham and Ryan Raburn for Adam Lind and Trevor Cahill.

Why? The league settings. We have a limit of 162 total starts, and 162 games played per position. Raburn was my third option at both LF and RF, so he likely wouldn’t be used at all. Beckham was my backup second baseman and was in the starting lineup as a UTIL, where Lind will slide in.

Already fielding Jose Reyes, Drew Stubbs, Mike Stanton, Brandon Morrow, Brian Matusz, and Leo Nunez, my lineup has enough risk/reward guys. Lind and Cahill together are safer. In a league that counts quality starts and wins, Cahill should provide 20 and 13-15, which is tremendous when there is a start limit.

Meanwhile, Lind is a good bet to beat Beckham in batting average, home runs, and RBI. And there are plenty of second base options on the waiver wire. As soon as Lind gets first base eligibility, I will drop Kila Ka’aihue for one, unless of course, Ka’aihue is raking.

So my lineup looks like this:

C- Carlos Santana
1B- Kendry Morales
2B- Rickie Weeks
3B- Aramis Ramirez
SS- Jose Reyes
LF- Delmon Young
CF- Andrew McCutchen
RF- Mike Stanton
UTIL- Adam Lind
UTIL- Drew Stubbs

B- Kila Ka’aihue, Ian Stewart, Andres Torres, Yunel Escobar

SP- Josh Johnson
SP- Matt Cain
SP- Wandy Rodriguez
SP- Brandon Morrow
RP- Leo Nunez
RP- Andrew Bailey
RP- Huston Street

B- Carlos Zambrano, Trevor Cahill, Joel Piniero, Brian Matusz

I’d love to say I’m done trading, but I’m always listening.

Leave a Reply

