Walking the Walk- TRADE!

Posted: April 27, 2011 in Fantasy Baseball

I traded Adam Lind, Tyler Clippard, and Mike Leake for Carl Pavano, Aubrey Huff, and Joel Hanrahan.

Ultimately, none of these guys are going to be keepers in this league, so this trade was about this season. I see Huff and Lind the same except Lind is only eligible at 1B and Huff has LF, RF and 1B eligibility.

The relievers… Clippard isn’t a closer, nor is he likely to get the job at any point. Hanrahan is clearly the guy in Pittsburgh and has performed in that spot. I really hesitated to trade Leake. That was the sticking point for a long time, but ultimately, the Reds rotation has Johnny Cueto and Home Bailey coming. I still think Leake keeps his rotation spot, but with his legal troubles circling, there is the risk he gets sent down or suspended. Pavano is obviously a matchups play. He tends to get rocked by good teams, but I can pick my spots.

There is the chance I turn around and deal Pavano for someone I like a little more. I’d love to do that.

This is my roster as it stands.

C- Yorvit Torrealba
1B- Ike Davis
2B- Jed Lowrie (also eligible at SS)
3B- Omar Infante (2B/LF), Felipe Lopez (2B, SS), Casey Blake DL
SS- Brandon Wood (3B), JJ Hardy DL
LF- Aubrey Huff (RF/1B), Logan Morrison DL
CF- Andres Torres DL
RF- Nick Markakis
OF- Carlos Quentin
UTIL- Jerry Sands
UTIL- Travis Hafner

SP- Tim Lincecum, Roy Halladay, Francisco Liriano, Carl Pavano, Justin Masterson, Brian Matusz DL, Adam Wainwright DL

RP- Sergio Santos, Jordan Walden, Joel Hanrahan

Leave a Reply

