April’s All-Underachiever Team

Posted: May 9, 2011 in Fantasy Baseball

These aren’t just guys I think underperformed in April, but who will turn around to better their expectations for the rest of the season.

C- Matt Weiters is batting .220 with four HR. I expect .280 and 20 by season’s end.

1B- Adam Dunn .165 with three home runs. He is as safe a bet for 35+ HR as anyone in baseball.

2B- Dan Uggla is batting .213  with five home runs. He is a career .260 hitter but bankable 30 HR.

3B- Pedro Alvarez sits at .212 and one HR. He won’t hit .275, but .260 and 25 HR is a fair hope.

SS- Hanley Ramirez is an elite fantasy option at his position. Buy low if his owner is stupid.

LF- Carl Crawford…see Ramirez, H.

CF- Alex Rios is at .205 but is always going to be streaky. Ride the hot ones to .270, 20 HR, 30 SB.

RF- Nick Markakis… I may be the only person on the planet who likes him, but I do. Safe bet for .295. He has hit 20 HR in a season before, has ample RBI and run scoring opportunity with a great lineup and a great hitter’s park. And he’s still young with room to grow. There is .300, 20 HR, 80 RBI and 80 R potential.

SP- Francisco Liriano for obvious reasons.

RP-Everyone but Mariano Rivera… I’ll tag Brian Wilson but all the elite closers seem to have struggled. I wouldn’t bank on that being repeated for the entire season.

April All-Overachievers coming soon.

Comments
  1. Cool post. Nice topic. Although I have to say I’ve never really believed in Wieters. He was awful last year, not any better this year. They say he’s going to be great, but my question is when? He’s shown almost no signs of that.

  2. How fickle fans can be. After just two seasons and 800 total at bats, we are moving on to the new shiny prospect. He batted .288 with nine HR in 2009 at 22 years old. Now, at 24 years old, we are done.

    His OPS is 41 points higher than last season, and he is already more than a third of the way to his 2010 home run total. Its not like we are looking for .300 and 30 from him. But .280 and 20 is more than possible.

    • I’ll add to that. If his owner in any of my leagues feels the way you do, then he can give me a call or shoot me an email. I’ll gladly take Matt off your hands.

  3. OK, you’re right, maybe I overreacted. All I’m saying is that there are many more catchers better than Wieters, in my opinion. In my league, Victor Martinez was dropped. Granted, he’s been so-so this year, but I’d rather have him than Wieters. Matt isn’t a bad catcher though, just not in the top 10 and maybe the top 15.

Leave a Reply

