Q&A

Posted: May 19, 2011 in Fantasy Baseball

Its Thursday, and time for another Q&A.

Fantasy X-Man,

Adam Wainwright and Stephen Strasburg are top ? starters next preseason? -Matty, Maine

Matty,

It’s hard to say. If both rehabs go well, I’d probably have Wainwright between 20 and 30, and have Strasburg somewhere around 50th. But that’s assuming their recoveries go well, and remembering Strasburg is likely to be on a strict innings limit.

Fantasy X-Man,

Who are you targeting in trades right now? -Bryan, Washington

Bryan,

Well, that depends on the league, but some guys I’d be going after right now are on the White Sox. I like Alex Rios and Adam Dunn to be just fine. Also, you might find Rick Porcello and Doug Fister on waivers when they should be owned. And consider adding Dustin Ackley as he could be up any time now. 

Fantasy X-Man,

Liriano’s start beginning of the turn around or flash in the pan? -Melissa, Canada

Melissa,

I honestly don’t know. He looked great. At the least, it earned him the chance to stay on my active roster. I’ve said all season he’s too talented to bench, and before the Seattle start I said it might be the last straw on that stance. He’ll be in my lineup on his next start. But it was the Mariners, so don’t shoot him back into the top-20 of your SP rankings. 

Fantasy X-Man,

How much longer is Halladay an elite pitcher, and how much would you want back in a keeper league? -Travis, Virginia

Travis,

He is still the #1 SP in baseball. I expect him to be in the top-10 for the next year and a half or so. So think pre-season 2013 as the beginning of his fall, but even then, it could be a two or three year fall. If I was going to deal him in my keeper league, I’d want major return. The drop off at SP after the top three or four is significant to the next pack of 15 or 20 arms. Regardless of your settings, you should be getting a no-doubt keeper back. But I think he’s the #1 fantasy SP at the end of this season, so you might not shop him until the offseason at the earliest. Of course, if someone blows you away, feel free. (and to the guys in my league who want him, I’m always listening to offers, but you better blow me away)

Fantasy X-Man,

What do you expect from Chase Utley and are you trading for him right now as a buy low? -Alex, New York

Alex,

I’m not touching him. This return sounds too much like Jacoby Ellsbury last season. He might only play half to two-thirds of the games when he’s back, and might only be at 75%. There’s just too many doctors saying he will be in constant pain.

Fantasy X-Man,

What do you see from Liriano for the rest of the season, best case? -Ben, California

Ben,

Best case? 10 wins, 3.20 ERA, 8.0 K/9. But keep in mind, two or three bad starts right now and he could be out of the rotation all together. 

That’s all for now. Keep the questions coming. 

Comments
  1. I was really surprised to find out how little people had Adam Dunn on their teams. I mean, the guy will easily hit 35 HR each year, I don’t care if he’s struggling or not, he should be on almost every team!

Leave a Reply

