Q&A

Posted: June 4, 2011 in Fantasy Baseball

Fantasy X-Man,

You traded for Adam Dunn and Alex Rios, now you’re talking about trading for Dan Uggla. How many underperforming guys do you want? -Jason, MO

Jason,

If I can get them cheap, and they have a track record of solid performance, I’d be happy to have them. If you want to send me Andrew McCutchen, Ubaldo Jimenez, Hanley Ramirez, or Albert Pujols for cheap, I’d be happy to have them all.

Fantasy X-Man,

Last week, you said there were a few guys you’d rank ahead of Pujols overall, if you were re-ranking now. Can you tell us everyone who falls in that category now, in a standard 5×5 league? -Madison, MI

Madison,

I think I’d hold onto Miguel Cabrera, Ryan Braun, Joey Votto and Jose Bautista if I was offered Pujols straight up. Not much after that. I guess Adrian Gonzalez might be in the conversation, but I think I’d rather have Pujols.

Fantasy X-Man,

Is Ogando running away with the AL ROY? -Sam, London

Sam,

Michael Pineda has to be in the conversation, among others. Its way too early to hand out awards, unless you’re giving Bautista the AL MVP. Haha! 

Fantasy X-Man,

Justin Masterson has had his second rough outing in a row. Is the fairy tale over? Should I trade him while I still can? -Juan, Texas

Juan,

I still dont think you will get fair return because the name is still unattractive to many. Of course we knew his ERA wouldnt be 2.50 for the season, so he was bound to have some rocky starts. But if you got him off waivers, are you really complaining about 15 wins and a 3.50 ERA? 

Fantasy X-Man,

How would you rank Desmond Jennings, Domonic Brown, Mike Moustakas and Dustin Ackley for the rest of the season? -Franklin, NY

Franklin,

I’ll tentatively take Moustakas, Jennings, Ackley and then Brown. But I dont love any of them. Also, you might consider putting Lonnie Chisenhall and Anthony Rizzo in this conversation.

Fantasy X-Man,

How do you decide which questions to post? -Maria, Oregon

Maria… If I get similar questions multiple times (from multiple people), I usually use one of those. But its my website, so I choose my favorites. 

Fantasy X-Man,

Final line for Adam Dunn and Dan Uggla? -Ryan, New Hampshire

Ryan,

Give me .240, 30 HR and 93 RBI for Dunn and .235, 26 and 88 for Uggla. 

Fantasy X-Man,

Give me Cy Young Award winners. -Travis, Minnesota

Travis,

I’m not in the human trafficking business. 

Fantasy X-Man,

I was watching ESPN’s franchise draft and wondered who you’d want in such a scenario. -Kim, CA

Kim,

I agreed entirely will Tulo #1. I think I would take Felix Hernandez just barely ahead of Lincecum as my top pitcher. I didnt understand the selection of Neftali Feliz. We’ve seen this year how volatile relief pitching is. 

Fantasy X-Man,

Final line for Albert Pujols? -Andy, Utah

Andy,

.310, 33 HR, 115 RBI. Not sure if he has time to fully recover to career averages, but to get to those numbers, he has a huge four months ahead. 

Thats all for now. Keep sending your questions and I’ll get to as many as I can.

Comments
  1. Do you still want Ubaldo Jimenez? He’s been downright awful this year, worse than any other big name pitcher I can think of.

  2. I still want Ubaldo Jimenez. If I could get him for 80 cents on the dollar (80% of his draft day value) I’d do it in a heartbeat.

Leave a Reply

