Walking the Walk- The good, the bad and the ugly…

Posted: June 20, 2011 in Fantasy Baseball

The bad is an ugly loss that saw me simply needing quality starts from Tim Lincecum, Matt Cain and Justin Masterson to win, and they all got hammered.

The good is a trade got done yesterday in which I sent Adam Wainwright, Franklin Gutierrez and Juan Rivera for Michael Brantley, Ichiro Suzuki, Michael Young and a third round pick next year.

I know that looks like a major ripoff, and I do think I won. But the reason he made the deal is, he is 1-9 and wanted Wainwright for a keeper, so Brantley, Suzuki and Young are almost worthless to him. Meanwhile, I have Jed Lowrie (2B/3B/SS) and Martin Prado (2B/3B/LF) on the DL. So Young fills a major hole. The other two are simply quality outfield upgrades. Ichiro isn’t what he used to be but he still has a hot streak coming  as a career .329 hitter isn’t going to hit .277 this year.

I love the deal for the upgrades this season and the draft pick next season.

The ugly… there was controversy about the trade. Our league employs a no-veto policy except in the case of cheating/collusion. There was no cheating but the LM initially vetoed the trade, saying it was too lopsided. But I argued that fairness has NEVER been a factor in trade intervention before, and the decision was reversed. Some guys in the league are a bit upset that it wasn’t vetoed, but even if I wasn’t involved, I am against vetoes in general, so I was glad to see the trade allowed. If you are an LM, never change the rules mid-season. If you spot a flaw or a loophole in the system, make the necessary changes in the offseason when everyone is on fair ground.

I’m 5-6, but with these upgrades, I think I can make a playoff run.

Comments
  1. That’s a nice trade, I do have to agree with you about it being a steal. I disagree with you about Ichiro though. I think it’s premature to say that he’s “not what he used to be”. He’s hitting much better recently, I think it’s too soon to say that. I lost this week after climbing back and being down by only 1 going into Sunday, but then my opponent had a bunch of pitchers going. I’m 6-5.

Leave a Reply

