Back to baseball for a minute…

Posted: July 6, 2011 in Fantasy Football

I’ve been working on the football positional rankings, and meanwhile, my email box is packed with baseball questions, so let’s get to some of those.

Fantasy X-Man,

Adam Dunn………….? -Jeff, New Jersey

Jeff,

I get it. I’ll put it this way, he’s on my bench in my 18-team mixed league. I can’t say drop him because I still think he comes back in the second half, but I can’t say start him because he’s striking out more than Mark Reynolds. Own him, but bench him. Trade him away if you can get draft-day value or close. Trade for him if you can get him under 50 cents on the dollar.

Fantasy X-Man,

How do you handle pitchers with innings caps? -Frank, Texas

Frank,

I own Jordan Zimmerman in my keeper league. I’m not trading him at a discount, but I’d be open to dealing him if someone will pay up. That being said, Zimmerman should continue to be an excellent play until he is shut down. And we can still hold out hope that, instead of shutting him down, they just give him an extra day or two now and then.

Fantasy X-Man,

Phil Hughes is back. But is he BACK? -Jess, Utah

Jess,

No one knows. I wouldn’t mind owning him, but I wouldn’t start him until we see what he has. There’s win and strikeout potential there if he really has his stuff back. But it’s an awful risk.

Fantasy X-Man,

I just got offered Anthony Rizzo for Adam Dunn in a dynasty league. What do you think? -Marty, New York

Marty,

If your team is out of contention, then do the deal. If you are still competing, Dunn will help you a lot more this season. And I always play for this season until hope is lost, before dealing for next year.

Fantasy X-Man,

Who are some guys that aren’t closers right now that might be save sources in the second half? -Terry, California

Terry,

Ryan Madsen is on the DL, but should be the guy when he’s back. Keep an eye on Mike Adams as the Heath Bell trade rumors swirl. I expect Joe Nathan to be the closer in Minnesota sooner than later. I still think Chris Sale gets a shot to close in Chicago, just don’t see Sergio Santos keeping the job all year. Especially if Chicago is out of the playoff race in mid to late August, why not give the kid a look? Also, gut call, I think Kenley Jansen gets a shot at the Dodgers’ ninth inning gig.

Fantasy X-Man,

How many people actually read this? -?, Florida

?,

At least enough to fill a Q&A every week.

Fantasy X-Man,

Bryce Harper is up to Double-A. Think he gets a September call? -Jordan, Washington

Jordan,

September 2012? Sure. In fact, I think he’s up in June 2012.

Fantasy X-Man,

Can you give us your #1 at each position right now? -Carson, Arizona

Carson,

C- Joe Mauer
1B- Adrian Gonzalez
2B- Robinson Cano
3B- Jose Bautista
OF- Ryan Braun/Matt Kemp
SP- Roy Halladay
RP- Mariano Rivera
QB- Aaron Rodgers
RB- Adrian Peterson
WR- Roddy White
TE_ Antonio Gates
DST- Pittsburgh Steelers
K- Who cares?
PG- Chris Paul
SG- Dwayne Wade
SF- Kevin Durant
PF- Kevin Love
C- Dwight Howard

Fantasy X-Man,

Why don’t you write more? Waiting for the rest of the football rankings, and this week’s baseball stuff. -Mark, Oregon

Mark,

I have a full-time job. I’m blogging about two sports now, and I actually have a life outside. Sorry for the delay with things, but I don’t work on it while I’m at work. Do the best I can.

Fantasy X-Man,

Didn’t get a “Walking the Walk” this week. Does that mean you lost? -Kay, Texas

Kay,

No, I won. Now 7-6. It’s going to be a heated playoff race. There are 22 weeks of regular season and last year the last team to get in was 13-9, so that’s where I figure I’ll need to be.

That’s it for now. I’m almost done with the other football positional rankings, and I’ll have a sleepers/busts list coming soon after.

 

 

Comments
  1. Joe Mauer is your best catcher right now? When he’s healthy, sure, but for now it’s surely got to be Brian McCann or Victor Martinez.

Leave a Reply

