Walking the Walk- Week 1

Posted: April 20, 2012 in Fantasy Baseball

I own Tim Lincecum and Brian Matusz so I don’t have to tell you I lost in week one, but it was closer than you might think.

Tragically, Justin Verlander‘s second outing was 8 innings of one-hit scoreless ball, and one inning of 4 earned runs and a loss, taking him from a potential 30-35 point start to 15 points. With BJ Upton on the disabled list, I was forced to employ Roger Bernadina in center field. Upton should be back tomorrow, and my center field will grow even more in the next month or two when Mike Trout is finally called up.

I was disappointed by the early lack of playing time for Devin Mesoraco. I’ve mostly gone with Geovany Soto behind the plate, but Jesus Montero has had three games behind the dish in the last week, so he may be catcher eligible sooner than we thought.

I lost Brian Wilson for the season. Yes, I paid for saves, though I thought I got him cheap, but I know better. It was a foolish draft choice and I’m paying for it. My RP slots are now filled with Addison Reed, Tyler Clippard, Luke Gregerson and pleasant surprise Chris Sale, who was among my sleepers preseason.

Mark Reynolds struck out a lot, as expected, but the power should come, so I’m not too worried.

Between Lincecum, Matusz, Upton being out and the news on Wilson, this week could have gotten ugly, but I lost by only 2.5 points, leading me to believe there is little reason to panic, and plenty of reason to hope.

Leave a Reply

